St. Augustine's Church - Rococo gem
Behind the red sandstone portal, a modern glass entrance offers a view of magnificent Rococo decorations. The Augustinian Church in the heart of the old town remained almost completely intact during World War II and displays a splendor that is unusual for the region in its original condition. The mendicant order of Augustinian hermits, which had been based in Augustinerstraße since 1260, had a convent here until 1802. The hall church was rebuilt between 1768 and 1772, along with the monastery. Since 1805, it has been home to the Episcopal Seminary.
The church is so richly decorated because patrons generously supported the work: the elector did not want a "peasant church" in his royal seat. The façade displays the lively forms of Main-Franconian Baroque and a coronation of Mary by the Mainz sculptor Nikolaus Binterim.
Inside, painter Johann Baptist Enderle from Donauwörth glorified the life of Church Father Augustine in large, bright ceiling paintings. The divided organ with the central window was built by Johann Heinrich Stumm in 1773; it is one of the few surviving instruments from this organ-building dynasty.
From a niche between the southern side altars smiles a lime wood sculpture from 1420: Mary with the playing Jesus boy – in its cheerfulness an extraordinary work of Gothic art, which is classified as "soft style." The highly revered image of grace was rescued from the burning Liebfrauenkirche in 1793. In the high altar is an iconographic rarity: at the death of Jesus, God the Father has a putto tear up the "debt note of humanity."
Picture gallery Augustinerkirche
Further information
Opening hours and church services
You can find the latest information on the website of the Episcopal Seminary of St. Boniface.
Contact us
Address
Augustinerkirche
Augustinerstraße 34
55116 Mainz









